Endorsement Meeting Agenda, 2-9-23

VID Endorsements - Friends and Family

VID Officers and Electeds Celebrate Friends & Family on Jan. 29th: (left to right) VID Pres. Jonathan Geballe, NYC Comptroller Brad Lander, VID V.P. Melissa Carty, Congressman Jerry Nadler, Assemblymember Deborah Glick, NYC Councilmember Erik Bottcher , Hostess and VID Treasurer Irene Kaufman

VID Endorsement Meeting Agenda for Feb. 9, 2023 to cover District leader, City Council, Judicial Delegates as well as Civil Court Candidates for Districts 1 , 3 and Countywide 

On Thursday, February 9th VID’s Endorsement Meeting will follow this agenda.


     1.  President’s report

          Brian Kavanagh meeting (Livvie Mann)
          Audit Committee and Clubhouse Committee update
          VID website update (Sara Kimbell)

     2.  District Leader report (Jen Hoppe)

     3.  Endorsements and Judicial Delegates – SEE BELOW

     4.  VID Constitutional Amendments to extend term limit for VPs to 3 years, and for Treasurer to 4 years

     5.  Committee reports

           Legislative Affairs
           Democratic Strategy

      6.  New Business
      7.  Adjournment

Endorsements Timing and Member Questions:

For each candidate, the rules are:

  • 4 minutes by the candidate if the opposition is contested, and 6 minutes for questions – max 1 minute per question
  • 2 minutes by the candidate if the candidate is just being introduced and/or has withdrawn candidacy this year
  • For each office, after all candidates have spoken, 10 minutes of discussion by VID members, 1 minute per member statement

The lineup of candidates to the extent known at this time (no endorsement is always an option and is NOT listed below):

VID ENDORSEMENT BALLOT ONE (District leader, City Council, Judicial Delegates)

6:00 p.m. – Part A, 66th AD District Leaders

  1. Jen Hoppe
  2. Arthur Schwartz

6:30 City Council District 3

  1. Erik Bottcher

6:45 City Council District 1

  1. Carlina Rivera
  2. Allie Ryan

7:30 VID’s Judicial Delegates

  • nominated from VID members
  • note, the Judicial Convention will be between Aug 10 and 16 – you must be available


8:00 Civil Court Candidates – District 1, District 3 and Countywide

  1. Lauren Esposito – 1st
  2. Andrea Krugman – 3rd
  3. Dana Catanzaro – Countywide
  4. Ralph Wolf – TBD
  5. George Santana – TBD
  6. Harold Bahr – 3rd
  7. Matthew Lombardi – withdrawn
  8. Mark Shawhan – TBD
  9. Brian Krist – 1st
  10. Yael Wilkofsky – withdrawn
  11. Anna Mikhaleva – 6th
  12. Denise Dominguez – 7th