The Villager Covers VID

In a lengthy article written by Lincoln Anderson, The Villager’s March 1st issue detailed Minister Michael Ellick’s update on the Occupy Wall Street movement.

Speaking to the Village Independent Democrats recently, Minister Michael Ellick of Judson Memorial Church was happy to inform them that Occupy Wall Street is alive and well, though admittedly with a lower profile these last few months.

In fact, he assured them, the 99 percent movement will soon return in a big way with demonstrations and events that will, once again, make the whole world stand up and take notice.  You can read the whole article here…

VID Supported Feb 11th Rally Opposing NYU 2031 Plan

Feb 11 Rally at Judson Church

Assemblymember Deborah Glick, with VID President Jonathan Geballe and Executive Committee Member Ellen Peterson-Lewis

On Saturday, February 11, VID put together a solid group of supporters for the Rally Opposing the NYU2031 Plan, NYU’s aggressive, tower-heavy 20-year construction proposal to jam our low-rise community with structures of inappropriate size, height and bulk (including a huge hotel), which will mean the takeover of public space and the influx of a concentration of more thousands of students, staff and faculty.

Seen at the rally were Jonathan Geballe and Ellen Peterson-Lewis, pictured with rally organizer Assemblymember Deborah Glick, on the steps of Judson Church, along with :  Nat Johnson and Anne Heaney, Sharon Woolums, Mary Petretti, Katharine Wolpe, Laura Morrison, Jo Hamilton and our District Leader/CB2 Chair Brad Hoylman who energized the rally-goers with an electrifying speech and threw in a shout out to VID (thanks, Brad).

A huzzah to those VIDers who braved the cold to join several hundred other Villagers in this battle to Save the Village.  Look for an article in this week’s Villager.

In a follow-up e-mail, Assemblymember Glick suggested the following as recommended recipients of letters:

Manhattan Borough President Scott Stringer
1 Centre Street, 19th Floor
New York, NY 10007
The Borough President makes a recommendation, not a binding vote.

Chair Amanda Burden
Chair of the City Planning Commission
22 Reade Street
New York, NY 10007
The Chair votes when City Planning reviews the application.  There are 12 other members of the City Planning Commission who also vote on the application. Letters to each member of the Commission is also advisable. The list of all members can be found at:, then clicking on the “about us” followed by “city planning commission.

Councilmember Margaret Chin
Chatham Green
165 Park Row, Suite #11
New York, NY 10038
The Councilmember represents the area of proposed development. She votes when City Council votes.

Council Speaker Christine Quinn
224 West 30th St, Suite 1206
New York, NY 10001
Speaker Quinn’s district is just a few blocks away so many constituents in the community-at-large are Speaker Quinn’s constituents. Additionally, as Speaker, she has influence over the Council. She votes when City Council Votes.

FOX News covered the event as did CBS Local blog and

UPDATE:  The Villager, March 1st,  CB2 votes unanimous No on NYU’s superblocks plan.


January 12th Forum on Living Wage Legislation

Richard Brenner and Matt Klein

The speakers on the Living Wage Panel, Richard Brenner and Matt Klein

On Thursday, January 12th VID hosted a discussion on pending New York City Council Living Wage legislation.  The speakers, Richard Brenner and Matt Klein representing the Housing Conservation Coordinators  and the West Side Neighborhood Alliance provided a lively and informative presentation and handled a multitude of questions from the VID audience.
VID then passed a resolution supporting the Living Wage proposal and urging Council Speaker Christine Quinn to support the bill and to promptly take action to enact it.
For more background on the Living Wage campaign go to:
UPDATES – January 13, 2012:
Comments on legislation from Stuart Appelbaum, President of the Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union, and Council Members G. Oliver Koppell, Annabel Palma, Inez Dinckens and Bronx Borough President Ruben Diaz, Jr.

VID Elects New Officers and Executive Committee

Here are the results from VID’s elections for the remaining 2012 Officers and Executive Committee:
Treasurer:  Celia Wu
Recording Secretary:  Katharine Wolpe will serve as Acting Recording Secretary
Corresponding Secretary:  Annette Zaner
Executive Committee
Frieda Bradlow
Georgina Christ
Tom Connor
Peter Crosta
Eli Hausknecht
Nadine Hoffmann
Tony Hoffmann
Teresa Hommel
Kathy Jacobson
Nat Johnson
Rachel Lavine
Ellen Peterson-Lewis
Tim McNerney
Yvonne Sherwell
Yayoi Tsuchitani