VID Holiday Celebration

The VID holiday celebration at Frieda Bradlow’s home was, as usual, a warmly welcome event in spite of the rain, wind and chill of December 16th.

Well-wishers included:   Congressman Jerrold Nadler; Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney; State Senator-elect Brad Hoylman; Councilwoman Letitia James; Councilwoman Jessica Lappin; Manhattan BP Scott Stringer, Rachel Lavine- Democratic State Committeewoman -66th Assembly District; District Leaders Jennifer Rajkumar (DID), Keen Berger (VID); Julie Menin, former CB#1 Chair and Candidate for Manhattan BP; David Gruber, Chair CB2 and Corey Johnson Chair at  CB4 and candidate for City Council.  Representing Gov Cuomo was Erik Bottcher, the Governor’s assistant for community affairs.  Representing Council Speaker Christine Quinn were Christine McLaughlin and Scott Melvin who presented a lovely Proclamation, on Christine’s behalf, honoring Frieda for her active community life.

Also present at the VID holiday celebration were new  officers Tony Hoffmann, Nat Johnson, Marti Speranza and Peter Crosta.  Among other VID stalwarts were Jonathan Geballe, Celia Wu, Eli Hausknecht, Nadine Hoffman, Sharon Woolums,  Katharine Wolpe, Georgina Christ, Anne Heaney, Tom Connor, Deley Gazinelli;  members and friends – Judge Frank Nervo, John Bredlin, Dodge Landesman, Peter Smith, Alexander Meadows, Alec Pruchnicki, David Reck and many others who then moved on to the vigil for the Connecticut tragedy and against gun violence.

All were fortified by an amazing array of delicious home-made pot luck offerings and healthy doses of conversation on fiscal cliffs, gun control, fraking, entitlement protections and local elections in 2013.

V.I.D. 2010 Endorsement Meeting Results

The V.I.D. endorsed the following 2010 candidates:
New York State Governor – Andrew Cuomo
New York State Lt. Governor – No Endorsement
New York State Comptroller – Thomas DiNapoli
New York State Attorney General – Liz Holtzman
(run-off vote with Eric Schneiderman)
Female State Democratic Committee – Rachel Lavine
Male State Democratic Committee – Arthur Schwartz
U.S. Senate – Kirsten Gillibrand
U.S. Senate – Charles Schumer
U. S. House 4th Dist. – Carolyn Maloney
U. S. House 8th Dist. – Jerrold Nadler
N.Y.S. Assembly – Deborah Glick
N.Y.S. Senate – Thomas Duane