UPDATE: Reception for District Leader Jonathan Geballe


Congressman Nadler and Frieda Bradlow hosted a cocktail reception for District Leader Jonathan Geballe, VID’s Male DL candidate for the 66th Assembly District, Part A, on Saturday, June 8th from 4-6:00 PM at 43 Charleton St.  Among the celebrants were Congressman Jerrold Nadler, NYS Senator Brad Hoylman, Tony Hoffman, and Female District Leader Keen Berger.

VID 2013 Election Chair Peter Crosta coordinated a most successful gathering.  Details on the invitation.


VID Endorsed John Liu, Daniel Squadron, Julie Menin…

VID endorsed john liu, daniel squadron, julie menin

May 9th Endorsement Meeting

VID endorsed John Liu, Daniel Squadron, Julie Menin

On Thursday, May 9th Village Independent Democrats endorsed mayoral candidate John Liu with a run-off vote over Christine Quinn.  Daniel Squadron won easily as their preferred Public Advocate candidate and Julie Menin received the endorsement over Jessica Lappin.

In uncontested elections for judgeships in the second judicial district the club also endorsed Marcy Friedman, Adam Silvera and Kathryn Freed.  Ann E. O’Shea received the endorsement for reelection to a County Wide Civil Court judicial position.

UPDATE:  Due to the fact that the NY County Judicial Screening Panel only reported out the candidates for county wide civil court judgeships on May 1st,  VID’s General Membership passed a resolution allowing the Executive Committee to endorse the judicial candidates.  On May 23rd VID’s Executive Committee unanimously endorsed JJ Kelley, Dakota Ramseur and Mary Rosado for Civil Court.

This makes the full roster of VID 2013 endorsements as follows:

Mayor – John Liu
Public Advocate – Daniel Squadron
Manhattan District Attorney- Cyrus Vance, Jr.
New York City Comptroller- Scott Stringer
Manhattan Borough President –
Julie Menin
City Council 1st District- Jenifer Rajkumar
City Council 2nd District- Rosie Mendez
City Council 3rd District- Corey Johnson

County-Wide Civil Court  – Ann E. O’Shea,  JJ Kelley, Dakota Ramseur and Mary Rosado

Civil Court, Second Judicial District – Marcy Friedman, Kathryn Freed, Adam Silvera

District Leader, 66th Assembly District Leaders, Part A – Jonathan Geballe and incumbent, Keen Berger


Recent coverage of Village Independent Democrats involvement in the 2013 elections includes:

Mayoral candidates make their case at Village forumThe Villager

Schwartz absent on key issues – The Villager, Opinion, Freda Bradlow

Johnson and Rajkumar win V.I.D.’s backing for Council – The Villager

VID Celebrated Earth Day

VID Celebrated Earthday

District Leader Jonathan Geballe and VID member Celia Wu leading Earth Day protest against Hydro-Fracking.

VID Celebrated Earth Day on April 20th at the Bleecker St. Playground with particular focus on the issue of hydro-fracking.

District Leader Jonathan Geballe was front and center talking with local families and residents who share concern for New York State and New York City regarding this ever-pending development.    See the pictures.

Late last year Jonathan, on a pro bono basis, joined several attorneys in a lawsuit opposing the Spectra Pipeline. VID as a club, and Nat Johnson and Anne Heaney, as individuals, are petitioners in a lawsuit   regarding the Spectra pipeline that will cross the Hudson into the West Village.  An appeal of the New York Supreme Court’s decision is underway.

The Earth Day demonstration was held in front of the Bleecker Street Playground to symbolize that we must save our planet for our children. Numerous VID’ers, community activists, State Senator Brad Hoylman, and a number of candidates for local offices participated in the rally.  Signatures were collected for a letter to Governor Cuomo to urge him to ban hydro-fracking in New York State. The rally was organized by VID member Georgina Christ for the Village Independent Democrats.

VID Endorsements for District Leader, Judicial Delegates and Alternates

VID Endorsements

Keen Berger and Jonathan Geballe, endorsed candidates for Female and Male District Leader, NYS 66th AD, Part A

VID Endorsements

On Thursday, March 15, 2013, the Village Independent Democrats voted to endorse Keen Berger and Jonathan Geballe for 66th Assembly District Leaders, Part A (Female & Male) for the 2013 Democratic Primary.  Keen Berger, the incumbent for 66th AD (Female) was unopposed.  Jonathan Geballe, who had been previously elected by the County Committee to complete the remainder of the term vacated by State Senator Brad Hoyman, was endorsed for the 66th AD (Male) post.

VID also elected the following persons to fill the role of Judicial Delegate or Alternate Judicial Delegate, as needed, representing VID:

Judicial Delegates

Peter Crosta
David Kruger
Nat Johnson

Alternate Judicial Delegates

Nadine Hoffmann
Marti Speranza
Georgina Christ
Maia Gottesfeld