VID Awards Celebration May 2nd

VID’s  2019 Annual Awards Celebration

Cincopa WordPress plugin

Thursday, May 2nd, 2019
6:00 – 9:00PM

Tio Pepe
168 West 4th Street
New York, NY 10014


Honorable Corey Johnson, Speaker of the New York City Council 

True Blue NY & NO IDC
Frieda Bradlow

Thank you to our generous sponsors 

Blue Governor Sponsors
Hon. Keen  Berger; The Bradlow Family; Robert Bradlow & Mylene Cabreras, Eric Bradlow & Laura Bradlow, Benjamin Bradlow; NY State Assemblymember Deborah Glick, Hon. Anthony Hoffmann & Hon. Nadine Hoffmann, State Committemember Rachel Lavine  & Roberta Kaplan, Esq., Congressmember Carolyn Maloney, Congressmember Jerrold Nadler, Alec Pruchnicki, M.D., Lois Rakoff.
Blue Senator Sponsors
James Fraser & Katherine Hanson; NY State Senator Brad Hoylman & David Sigal; Sam Jacob & Marcus Andrews; Zella Jones; Irene Kaufman & Daniel Neiden; Hon. Karla Moskowitz & Marvin Moskowitz.
Blue Assembly Sponsors
Manhattan Borough President Gale Brewer; NY State Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli; Hal Friedman; Grand Street Democrats; Hon. Jonathan Geballe, Esq.; NY State Assemblymember Richard Gottfried;  Susan Gottesman; Alison Greenberg, Esq.; Eli Hausknecht; Jen Hoppe; Linda  Jacobson; Rose James; City Council Speaker Corey Johnson; Sara Kimbell; Remy Kothe; Kate Linker; State Committeeman Chris Marte;  Jim Owles Liberal Democratic Club;  NYC Councilmember Carlina Rivera; Burt Rosenberg; Hon. Arthur Schwarts, Esq.; Debra Sherman & Ray Thoman; David Siffert; Allison Stowell, Esq.;Hon. Kenneth Wind for Grand Street Democrats; Hon. Katharine Wolpe; Hon. Jim Yates; State Committeeman Benjamin Yee.


VID’s 62nd Gala is set for May 2nd.  SAVE THE DATE

Thursday, May 2nd, 2019

6:00 – 9:00PM

Tio Pepe
168 West 4th Street
New York, NY 10014

55 Years Strong…

To see all the pictures of our friends, click here

It was a great turn-out for our 55th Anniversary, with warm feelings all around.   Long-missed faces, like William Stricklin and Chad Marlow…and our honorees Norman Siegel, Friends In Deed and Gale Brewer were clearly wowed by the celebration.

Thanks to all who attended and who donated.  Some deserve special recognition for making this happen.  Our Gala Committee of Katharine Wolpe, Ellen Peterson-Lewis, Tom Conner and Sharon Woolums put in the long hours of planning, strategy and arranging. Extra help was provided by Deley Gazinelli, who set up the award placques. Eli Hausknecht monitored the ticket purchases and arranged the event check-in and revenue. Eli, this could not have happened without you.

Celia Wu also worked on the tickets and brought our prominently displayed VID banner to the event, and helped me set up Paypal on the VID website. Reinforcements for the phone tree included Nadine Hoffmann, Tony Hoffman, Keen Berger, Brad Hoylman, Frieda Bradlow, and Kathy Jacobson. And our top table team, taking tickets, was attended by Peter Crosta, Georgina Christ, Tim McNerney and Teresa Hommel.  Sharon handed out drink tix and Katharine Wolpe directed traffic. Tony Hoffman served as photographer. Our well-placed and elegantly presented Villager ad was designed by Yayoi Tsuchitani.

I want to say a special word about our outstanding District Leaders, Keen Berger and Brad Hoylman. Somehow during my opening remarks I lost a card and thus skipped over their leadership over the past year on the St Vincent’s matter and the park and the new middle school at 75 Morton, the opposition to NYU2031, and so many other issues. Brad and Keen exemplify the heart and soul of VID. Thank you both for turning our ideals and goals into realities.

It was honoring Annette Zaner and Yvonne Sherwell, who have been two of the pillars of VID that was the sweetest verse of this song. This was our moment to embrace you. Annette, Yvonne, it is far too little recognition for your many years of fierce and longstanding dedication to VID, but I know that it lifted us — all of us — and so I hope it lifted you as well.

Happy 55th Gala, VID.


VID 55th Annual Gala

The Village Independent Democrats

55th Annual Awards Gala & Cocktail Reception

Thursday May 3, 2012

6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Colors Restaurant

411 Lafayette St.

(between Astor Place & East 4th St.)

 View Our Invitation Here                                                                                                              R.S.V.P Here



     Hon. Gale A. Brewer, New York City Council   For her progressive and passionate public service

     Friends in Deed    For 20 years of support services to those with lifethreatening
illnesses, grief and bereavement

     Norman Siegel, Esq.   For a lifetime of commitment to civil rights

     Yvonne Sherwell, Village Independent Democrats   For dedicated service to tenants’ rights

     Annette Zaner, Village Independent Democrats  For a lifetime of community activism

See our Gala Page for more information